Awards and medals

Gas Industry Awards

Introduced in 1998 the Gas Industry Awards, organised by us and the Energy & Utilities Alliance (EUA), have been recognising and rewarding the outstanding achievements of individuals and organisations working in the gas sector for over 20 years. They have built up a strong reputation for uncovering highly innovative work and exceptional talent.

The winner of each award is announced and celebrated at a prestigious awards ceremony and gala lunch held in the spectacular surroundings of the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane, London. A flagship event for both IGEM and EUA the awards lunch is highly regarded by the sector and consistently attracts over 600 gas professionals making it a fantastic networking opportunity.

Entries are now open for the 2022 awards, find out more here.


If you’re aged 18-35 and passionate about gas, get the recognition you deserve by entering the YPPC. Whether you work in pipeline design, marketing, or even still studying – if you're involved in the gas industry in some way, this competition is a great way to stand out from the crowd.

Engineering Technician of the Year

Introduced in 2017 the Engineering Technician of the Year award recognises the outstanding contribution that our EngTech members make to the gas industry and the wider community.

The winner is announced at our Annual Conference, which takes place in September, where their contribution is recognised by us and fellow professionals from across the gas sector. They receive an educational grant of £1,500 to support their career development.

Sugg Heritage Award

The Sugg Heritage Award is awarded by the Panel for the History of the Gas Industry and is used to recognise work that contributes to the understanding of the history, aspirations, traditions and achievements of the gas industry.

Institution medals

The Gold Medal, first awarded in 1912, is presented annually for a paper presented on any subject at an annual general meeting. The Silver Medal, first awarded in 1905, is an annual award for a paper presented at a general meeting of a District Section or an affiliated district association.  The Bronze Medal, first presented in 1905, is awarded annually for a paper accepted and read at a general meeting of a Junior Gas Association, and the recipient must be a member of the Junior Gas Association at which the paper is read.

The Birmingham Medal, created in 1881 and awarded to encourage the extension of the uses of coal, and can be given to persons of any nation’. Supposed to facilitate as broad research as possible.

The H.E. Jones London Medal, first presented in 1905, is an annual award for a paper which is accepted for presentation and is read at a general meeting of the Institution which deals with the principals involved in the construction of Works or plant for the manufacturer or distribution of gas.


Gas Industry Awards logo 2020 colour - no date