Supporting the gas industry since 1863
Sign In
Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Winners of Gas Industry Awards 2016 announced

The winners of the 2016 Gas Industry Awards, organised by EUA and IGEM were announced at a special lunchtime awards ceremony in London's Park Lane on Tuesday May 17.

The event was hosted by well-known English broadcaster John Inverdale, with awards presented by Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Department of Energy and Climate Change.

There were 10 categories and two outstanding contribution awards.

The winners were:

Manager of the Year - Ian Foster, Fulcrum

Engineer of the Year - Jamie McAinsh, SNG Ltd

Young Person's Achievement - Simon Langdale, Synthotech Ltd

Safety Award - Wales & West Utilities Ltd

Energy Efficiency Award - Morrison Utility Services

Innovation Project Award - SGN 'Opening Up the Gas Market' Project

Customer Service Award - Wales & West Utilities Ltd

Innovation Product Award - Synthotech Ltd in partnership with Northern Gas Networks (Water Extraction for Mains)

Leadership Award - Chris Bielby, SGN Ltd

Company of the Year - Fulcrum

Outstanding Contribution - Steve Edwards, Wales & West Utilities and Richard Harper, British Gas.

Mike Foster, Chief Executive of EUA, said: "Congratulations to all of this year's winners, the standard of entrants this year was exceptionally high. I would like to thank everyone from across the gas industry that has joined us today to make this event so memorable."

Sarb Bajwa, IGEM CEO, said "Another amazing year, congratulations to all of our winners and nominees. It is wonderful that so many people from across the industry came together to recognise the very best we have to offer."

EUA and IGEM would like to thank this year's event sponsors National Grid, Towngas and ULC Robotics.