Supporting the gas industry since 1863
Sign In
Friday, May 15, 2015

Gas Industry Awards 2015 honours outstanding achievements

The winners of the Gas Industry Awards 2015 were announced at a special awards lunch at London's Park Lane Hilton today, 14 May 2015.

The event organised by The Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM) and The Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA), saw over 600 attendees gather to celebrate the largest and most prestigious event of the gas industry calendar.

The annual event honours the outstanding companies and people who make the gas great and this year saw the highest number of nominations in the history of the Gas Industry Awards.

The awards were hosted by Broadcaster and Journalist Michael Collie, with a key note address given by Dermot Nolan, Chief Executive of OFGEM.

The 9 award winners were presented with their prizes by various representatives of the sponsors, all of whom paid tribute to the industry. A further award 'Lifetime Achievement' was given to Mr Gordon Davies to recognise his tireless contributions to the gas industry.

Sarb Bajwa IGEM CEO, said: "Every year the calibre of the entries for the Gas Industry Awards seems to rise above all expectations. The ceremony itself was a celebration not just for the winners but for the industry as a whole as we strive to make our sector safer, more efficient and better for our clients and customers.

We have inarguably the best gas industry in the world, which is consistently pushing itself to improve, to grow and to refine. For that reason, the Gas Industry Awards is always a highlight of my calendar, as I'm sure it is for the hundreds of people from across the industry that attended.

I want to take this opportunity to congratulate all our winners and all our runners up. You should feel proud of your achievements and we look forward to seeing what amazing things you accomplish over the next 12 months."

Mike Foster, Chief Executive of EUA, said: "When you have an industry that is crammed full of talented people and exceptional companies such as ours, no one can deny that it's a huge honour to be nominated for these awards. 

I want to congratulate all our shortlisted nominees and to thank our speaker Dermot Nolan for his address at the awards ceremony. It was a truly remarkable day, made even more special by the incredibly high standards set by our nominees."

The full list of award winners can be found below: 

Manager of the Year Award - Dave Bendle, British Gas 

Engineer of the Year - Alan Midwinter, SGN Ltd 

Young Persons' Achievement Award - Carly Gilchrist, Fulcrum 

Gas Industry Safety Award - British Gas Safety Team 

Energy Efficiency Award - Phoenix Natural Gas Ltd 

Customer Service Award - Wales & West Utilities 

Gas Industry Innovation Award - Northern Gas Networks 

Gas Industry Leadership Award - Alfred Chan Wing Kin, The Hong Kong And China Gas Company

Company of the Year Award - Steve Vick International

Lifetime Achievement Award - Gordon Davies